Cookies

We use cookies to help us provide you with the best experience, improve and tailor our services, and carry out our marketing activities. For more information, including how to manage your cookie settings, see our privacy notice.

OK

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

We’ve made our member-only resources free to everyone because of the current situation. We think it’s important people have the guidance they need to run their organisations during this time.

If you want to find out more about how you can volunteer to help deal with coronavirus, see our volunteering and coronavirus page.

If you are looking for advice on coronavirus and your charity, please see our dedicated coronavirus page.

Community-made content which you can improve Case study from our community

How to change your privacy settings on Facebook

     Why change your privacy settings?

Social networking sites as the name implies are by their very nature ‘social’. Sites for sharing information, ideas, events and so on. However, not everything wants to be shared on sites like Facebook. In particular photographs, videos and status updates, are often best shared amongst ‘friends’ and not the whole of the Internet.

 

Things you'll need

  • Your Facebook account open and a little bit of time.
1

Why is this significant?

Imagine you have set up a Facebook Page for your group or organisation . Do you really want everyone to link into your pictures and status updates? How does this look if someone observes something about your organisation they'd really rather not see? It has every chance of dissuading them from making that enquiry or even making that donation!

This can happen if your own personal profile is 'clicked' on, by someone who is not a 'friend' of yours, AND your privacy settings are viewable by 'Everyone'

2

How easy is this to do?

It's very easy to do . . .

Using the 'drop down' menu select 'Account' and 'Privacy Settings'

This will bring up the 'Sharing on Facebook' screen and this is where you can customise who is able to see your private information.

3

Changing your settings

 Change as many of the settings as you want, simply by clicking on the appropriate area:

  • Everyone
  • Friends of Friends
  • Friends Only
  • Recommended
  • Custom

Once this is done, these new settings can be saved. People who aren't friends of 'A N Other' see only some of their profile information

4

Watch How-to . . .

This link will take you to a video clip, please watch with the sound on.

Further information

Contributors

Page last edited Apr 30, 2019 History

Help us to improve this page – give us feedback.